MelloJam Listen now

18 Spa Workforce Statistics Every Owner Should Know Before Hiring Another Practitioner

We read the International Spa Association's 2026 Big Five release, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook pages for massage therapists and skincare specialists, BLS personal-care and employment coverage data, and the U.S. Census Bureau's County Business Patterns data. The goal was to extract the numbers that help a spa owner understand labor supply, pay, hiring pressure, and treatment capacity.

The sources measure different things. ISPA provides a spa-specific employment baseline. BLS provides occupation-level employment, wages, and projected openings, but those occupations include workers outside spas. Census counts employer establishments and payroll in an adjacent personal-care industry classification. QCEW measures covered payroll employment and excludes some forms of work, including self-employed nonagricultural workers. Each statistic below keeps that boundary visible.

Back to Spa statistics

The numbers at a glance

Role or measure Employment or jobs Wage Openings Geography Source universe Period Treatment-capacity implication
Spa industry total employment 376,900 Not reported Not reported United States ISPA total spa employment January 2026 Industry scale only; not a practitioner denominator
Massage therapists 168,000 jobs $57,950 median annual; $27.86 per hour 24,700 per year projected United States BLS SOC 31-9011, all industries 2024; 2024-34 Labor supply context; not spa-only
Massage therapists who are self-employed 42% of jobs Not comparable to employee wage Not applicable United States BLS occupation employer distribution 2024 Indicates a non-employee capacity model
Massage therapists in accommodation 6% of jobs $45,280 median annual industry wage Not reported United States BLS occupation employer distribution 2024 Hotel and resort context, not a hotel spa count
Skincare specialists 97,400 jobs $41,560 median annual; $19.98 per hour 14,500 per year projected United States BLS SOC 39-5094, all industries 2024; 2024-34 Esthetics and facial or body treatment labor context
Skincare specialists who are self-employed 26% of jobs Not comparable to employee wage Not applicable United States BLS occupation employer distribution 2024 Indicates a non-employee capacity model
Skincare specialists in accommodation 2% of jobs $18.88 per hour industry median Not reported United States BLS occupation employer distribution 2024 Hotel and resort context
Personal care and service occupations Broad occupation group $35,110 median annual 772,400 per year projected United States BLS broad group; not spa-specific May 2024; 2024-34 Adjacent labor-market context only
NAICS 812199, other personal care services 31,863 employer establishments $5.647 billion annual payroll Not an openings measure United States Census CBP employer establishments 2023 Adjacent business category; not all spa activities
QCEW covered employment Industry-dependent Total payroll compensation Not spa-specific here United States BLS UI and UCFE covered employers 2024 Payroll context; excludes self-employed nonagricultural workers

ISPA reported 376,900 total spa employment in January 2026

ISPA's 2026 Big Five release reports that total spa employment reached 376,900 in January 2026, up 0.2%. The same release says full-time employment was steady, part-time roles expanded slightly, and contract positions declined. This is the most direct current national baseline in the sources reviewed because it is explicitly about the spa industry rather than a neighboring occupation.

The employment number sits alongside a $23.5 billion U.S. spa industry in 2025, 191 million spa visits, 22,060 spa locations, and $123.10 in revenue per spa visit. For an owner, the useful reading is that employment is part of a large operating system: labor availability affects how many of those visits can be scheduled, delivered, and repeated. The figure is a scale marker, not a staffing plan.

ISPA's total employment number is not a practitioner headcount

The ISPA release labels the figure total employment. It does not provide a role-level split that tells us how many people are massage therapists, skincare specialists, front-desk staff, managers, or other spa workers. It also does not provide the practitioner denominator needed to convert the number into treatment hours.

That distinction matters. A source-backed article can say that the U.S. spa industry reported 376,900 in total employment in January 2026. It should not rewrite that as 376,900 practitioners, divide spa revenue by that figure to produce revenue per practitioner, or use it to estimate the number of treatment rooms that can be staffed. Those calculations require a role breakdown and a definition of jobs, people, or full-time equivalents.

Massage therapists held 168,000 U.S. jobs at a $57,950 median wage

The BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook defines massage therapists as SOC 31-9011 and reports 168,000 jobs in 2024. The occupation's median annual wage was $57,950 in May 2024, equivalent to $27.86 per hour when expressed on the BLS page.

This is a useful benchmark for a spa that hires massage therapists, but it is not a spa-only figure. BLS includes massage therapists working in personal care services, healthcare offices, chiropractic offices, accommodation, and other settings. The wage is an occupation benchmark, not a promise of what a particular spa must pay, and it should not be treated as the take-home income of self-employed or commission-based workers.

Massage therapist employment is projected to grow 15% through 2034

BLS projects 15% employment growth for massage therapists from 2024 to 2034. It projects about 24,700 openings per year on average, with employment reaching 193,900 jobs in 2034. The projected numeric increase is 25,900 jobs.

The openings figure is not a count of vacant positions at spas today. It represents the expected annual need created by growth and replacement across the occupation. For a spa owner, it is better read as evidence of sustained labor-market demand: recruiting, retention, scheduling flexibility, and training may all affect whether a spa can turn demand for appointments into delivered services.

About 42% of massage therapists were self-employed

BLS reports that self-employed workers made up 42% of massage therapist employment in 2024. Among the largest employee industry groups, 30% worked in personal care services, 10% in offices of other health practitioners, 6% in chiropractors' offices, and 6% in accommodation.

That mix changes what a spa is competing against. A spa is not recruiting from a labor pool made up only of conventional full-time employees. Many massage therapists may evaluate a role against self-employment, room rental, contractor work, healthcare employment, or a portfolio of settings. A hiring plan should therefore state the relationship clearly: employee, contractor, commission-based worker, or independent practitioner, with the schedule, pay formula, room access, and client ownership defined.

Skincare specialists held 97,400 jobs at a $41,560 median wage

BLS reports 97,400 skincare specialist jobs in 2024 and a median annual wage of $41,560 in May 2024, or $19.98 per hour on the BLS page. The occupation includes estheticians who provide facials, body treatments, peels, scrubs, hair removal, and skincare product recommendations.

The occupation is relevant to spas because the work overlaps with many treatment menus. It is still an occupation-wide benchmark, not a count of spa estheticians. A spa using this figure should describe it as the national BLS benchmark for skincare specialists and then pair it with its own local pay, commission, licensing, and utilization data.

Skincare specialist employment is projected to grow 7% with 14,500 annual openings

BLS projects 7% employment growth for skincare specialists from 2024 to 2034. It projects about 14,500 openings per year, with employment increasing by 6,600 jobs to 103,900 in 2034.

As with massage therapists, annual openings are not the same as unfilled spa vacancies. They describe expected labor-market entry and replacement needs across the occupation. The practical question for an owner is whether the spa can offer enough predictable hours, suitable treatment space, training, and earning potential to attract a specialist who has other employment models available.

Skincare staffing is split between personal care services and self-employment

BLS reports that 54% of skincare specialists worked in personal care services and 26% were self-employed in 2024. Other large employer categories included physician offices at 8%, health and personal care retailers at 3%, and traveler accommodation at 2%. The two largest categories together account for about 80% of the occupation's jobs.

For a spa, the important point is not that one category is the correct one. It is that skincare labor is distributed across employment models and settings. A spa can improve its staffing forecast by tracking which roles are employees and which are self-employed or contracted, how many hours each person commits, and how many of those hours are actually available for treatments.

Accommodation is only 6% of massage therapist employment and 2% of skincare specialist employment

BLS places 6% of massage therapist jobs and 2% of skincare specialist jobs in accommodation. This gives hotel and resort spas a useful national context, but it is not a count of hotel spa workers. Accommodation is a broad industry category, and the BLS occupation distribution does not identify a particular property's spa operation.

The small shares also show why hotel spa staffing cannot be planned from the entire occupation alone. A resort may compete for the same licensed or experienced workers as personal care businesses, healthcare settings, and independent practitioners. It needs its own data on seasonal demand, treatment hours, split shifts, employee housing or commuting, and the share of the schedule reserved for hotel guests.

The broad personal care and service group has 772,400 annual openings

BLS reports about 772,400 projected openings per year for the broad personal care and service occupations group. The group's median annual wage was $35,110 in May 2024, compared with $49,500 for all occupations. BLS describes this group as including beauty, fitness, and other services that help people with personal needs.

This is useful as adjacent labor-market context, not as a spa vacancy statistic. The group includes many occupations that are unrelated to spa treatment delivery. It can help explain why a spa is hiring in a competitive service labor market, but a published article should never present 772,400 as the number of spa jobs or spa openings.

Census counted 31,863 employer establishments in NAICS 812199 in 2023

The Census Bureau's 2023 County Business Patterns table lists 31,863 employer establishments and $5.647 billion in annual payroll for NAICS 812199, Other Personal Care Services. The table counts establishments with paid employees and reports payroll in thousands of dollars, which converts to $5.647 billion for the national row.

This is a business-count and payroll measure, not an industry revenue measure and not a count of every spa worker. It is also different from ISPA's industry universe. Use it to describe the scale of a neighboring employer category, and keep the words employer establishments, annual payroll, NAICS 812199, and 2023 in the sentence so readers can identify exactly what is being counted.

NAICS 812199 includes day spas but excludes some core spa activities

Census lists day spas among the examples in NAICS 812199, but the category also includes businesses such as depilatory and electrolysis salons, saunas, steam baths, tanning services, tattoo services, permanent makeup, and other personal care services. That makes it broader than the spa business and less complete than a full spa industry definition.

The classification also points some activities elsewhere. Health resorts and spas that provide lodging are classified with hotels, while massage therapy services are classified in Health Care and Social Assistance. The profile also excludes categories such as hair, nail, and facial salons from 812199. A strong article should explain this before presenting the establishment count, otherwise readers may assume that it represents every spa location and every spa treatment.

QCEW covers payroll jobs, not all people who work in a spa

The BLS Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages is built from unemployment insurance and Unemployment Compensation for Federal Employees coverage. BLS says QCEW covers more than 95% of U.S. jobs, and its monthly employment count includes workers who worked or received pay during the pay period that includes the 12th of the month. The program publishes employment and wages by industry and geography.

QCEW is therefore a strong source for covered employer payroll context, but it is not a complete count of spa labor. BLS identifies self-employed nonagricultural workers among the principal exclusions. QCEW wages represent compensation paid during the quarter and may include tips and bonuses, but exclude employer benefit contributions. A spa workforce article should not combine QCEW payroll with ISPA total employment as if both use the same universe.

Massage wages differed by industry, from $45,280 in accommodation to $66,710 in chiropractor offices

BLS reports different median annual wages for massage therapists by industry in May 2024: $66,710 in chiropractors' offices, $61,640 in offices of other health practitioners, $55,630 in personal care services, and $45,280 in accommodation. These figures show that the setting is associated with different wage distributions.

The comparison is directional, not a compensation recommendation. Industry medians do not show a spa's commission split, tips, benefits, contractor fees, room-rental costs, or local cost of living. They also do not mean that moving from one industry to another guarantees a particular wage. An owner can use the table to ask whether the spa's offer is competitive for its local market and employment model, then validate that decision with current internal recruiting data.

Part-time work is common and massage therapists cannot typically sustain eight treatment hours every day

BLS says part-time work is common for massage therapists and that schedules vary by employer and setting. It also notes that many massage therapists cannot perform massage services for eight hours a day, five days a week. This is an important capacity fact because a scheduled shift is not the same as a full day of hands-on treatment.

The gap includes breaks, consultation, room turnover, cleaning, documentation, training, late arrivals, cancellations, and the physical limits of repeated hands-on work. A staffing model that multiplies headcount by 40 hours will overstate appointment capacity unless it separates scheduled hours from treatment hours.

A spa workforce statistic becomes useful only when tied to available treatment hours

The useful operating unit is the treatment hour that the spa can actually sell and deliver. Start with scheduled practitioner hours, subtract non-treatment blocks, and compare the result with completed treatment hours. For example, a practitioner scheduled for 30 hours with 6 hours of breaks, administration, training, and recovery has 24 available treatment hours. If 18 treatment hours are completed, local utilization is 75%.

That 75% is an example calculated from the local inputs, not a published industry benchmark. The same method works for a room, a practitioner, a treatment category, or the whole spa:

Available treatment hours = scheduled practitioner hours - non-treatment blocks
Practitioner utilization = completed treatment hours / available treatment hours x 100
Revenue per practitioner hour = service revenue / completed practitioner hours
Coverage gap = demand-required treatment hours - staffed treatment hours
Contractor capacity = contractor treatment hours committed to spa / requested contractor hours x 100

Practitioner utilization needs a practitioner denominator, not ISPA's total employment count

ISPA's 376,900 total employment figure cannot be used as the denominator for practitioner utilization because it includes the full spa workforce and does not provide the role mix. Front desk, management, sales, cleaning, and other work can support treatment delivery without being treatment labor.

For a local calculation, count the practitioners who are available in the period and classify their relationship to the business. Then record scheduled hours, non-treatment hours, completed treatment hours, and the room or service line used. This lets an owner explain whether low output comes from hiring shortages, low demand, cancellations, room limits, schedule design, or a deliberate amount of recovery and administration time.

A workforce dashboard should separate employee, self-employed, contractor, and vacancy data

A useful spa workforce dashboard should record, for each person and period:

This structure keeps the external benchmarks and the spa's own operating data separate. External sources tell an owner how large the occupation is, how wages vary by setting, and how many openings BLS expects. The local dashboard tells the owner whether a specific staffing decision will create more bookable capacity, improve schedule stability, or simply add labor cost without adding treatment hours.

Sources