MelloJam Listen now

19 Salon Staffing and Self-Employment Statistics Every Owner Should Know Before Hiring Another Professional

Salon staffing statistics become misleading when workers, businesses, and payroll roles are treated as the same thing. The Bureau of Labor Statistics counts occupations. Census counts employer establishments, employer firms, and nonemployer businesses. A salon software benchmark measures the operating results of businesses represented in that platform's dataset.

We read the original BLS, Census, and Zenoti sources and extracted the figures most useful to salon owners. The article starts with a source-separated staffing table, then explains what each number can tell you about hiring, chair rental, commission, payroll, capacity, and owner income.

Back to Salon statistics

A salon staffing statistic can count a worker, an establishment, or a payroll role

The first question is what is being counted. A BLS occupation count includes people who may work in salons, barbershops, spas, hotels, retail, or their own businesses. A Census employer establishment is a physical location with paid employees. A Census nonemployer establishment has no paid employees and may represent a solo, mobile, or independent operator.

The table keeps those populations separate. The BLS rows are useful for understanding labor supply, wages, self-employment, and openings. The Census rows are useful for understanding the businesses and payroll structures that employ or host professionals. The numbers should not be added together or used interchangeably.

Occupation or business category Employment Self-employed share Median wage Annual openings Projected growth Coverage Limitation
Barbers, hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists, SOC 39-5010 651,200 jobs in 2024 48% hairdressers and cosmetologists; 76% barbers $17.03 per hour combined 84,200 5% from 2024 to 2034 BLS occupation Does not equal salon establishments; wage data exclude self-employed pay
Hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists, SOC 39-5012 575,200 jobs in 2024 48% $16.95 per hour Not separately stated 6% BLS occupation Workers may be in salons, retail, spas, hotels, or self-employment
Barbers, SOC 39-5011 76,000 jobs in 2024 76% $18.73 per hour Not separately stated 4% BLS occupation A worker count is not a barber shop count
Manicurists and pedicurists, SOC 39-5092 210,100 jobs in 2024 28% $16.66 per hour 24,800 7% BLS occupation Workers can be in nail salons, hair salons, spas, or independent businesses
Skincare specialists, SOC 39-5094 97,400 jobs in 2024 26% $19.98 per hour 14,500 7% BLS occupation Includes salon, spa, and medical-office work
Beauty salon employer establishments, NAICS 812112 84,176 establishments; 392,901 AIES employees Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable Census employer business Establishments and employees come from different Census measures
Nail salon employer establishments, NAICS 812113 34,417 establishments; 158,952 AIES employees Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable Census employer business Does not include the large nonemployer population

The practical rule is simple: use BLS data to size and price the workforce, Census data to describe employer and nonemployer business structures, and local operating data to decide whether one additional professional will pay for the capacity they add.

BLS counted 651,200 hair and barber jobs in 2024

The BLS counted 651,200 jobs in the combined occupation of barbers, hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists in 2024. That is the broadest headline number in the core salon workforce data, but it describes jobs held by people rather than locations operated by businesses.

The count includes workers who are self-employed and workers employed outside a conventional salon. It is therefore useful for describing the scale of the occupation, but not for answering how many professionals are available to a particular city, how many chairs a salon should add, or how many payroll employees a competitor has.

Hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists made up 575,200 of those jobs

Within the combined BLS category, hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists held about 575,200 jobs in 2024. Barbers accounted for another 76,000. Keeping the two categories separate is useful because their self-employment shares, wage medians, and projected growth rates are different.

The hair and cosmetology occupation also includes work that overlaps with skin and nail services. BLS directs readers to separate occupation profiles for manicurists, pedicurists, and skincare specialists, so an owner should not assume that every personal appearance service is represented by the hairdresser count.

Self-employed workers represented 48% of hair professionals and 76% of barbers

Self-employed workers represented 48% of hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists in the BLS work-environment data. The share was 76% for barbers. Those figures make self-employment a central staffing reality, not a small exception to the payroll model.

The BLS category does not tell an owner whether a self-employed professional rents a chair, works in a separate suite, operates a mobile business, or owns a full salon. It also does not settle the legal classification of a particular contract. It tells you that a payroll-only view of the workforce will miss a large part of the occupation.

Personal care services employed 46% of hair professionals and 23% of barbers

Personal care services was the largest named industry employer for 46% of hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists and 23% of barbers. Retail trade accounted for another 5% of the hair and cosmetology occupation. The remaining workers were distributed across other categories, including self-employment.

This is why the occupation count should not be described as the salon employee count. A business can recruit from the same occupation while competing with salons, barbershops, retail employers, independent suites, and existing self-employed professionals for the person's time and client book.

The median wage was $16.95 for hair professionals and $18.73 for barbers

The BLS reported May 2024 median hourly wages of $16.95 for hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists and $18.73 for barbers. In the personal care services industry, the corresponding medians were $17.10 and $18.35.

A median is the midpoint of the wage distribution, not a recommended offer and not a complete labor budget. A salon's actual cost can also include employer payroll taxes, benefits, commissions, guaranteed minimums, paid training, product use, recruiting, and the time spent between appointments.

BLS wage data include tips but exclude self-employed pay

BLS says that tips are included in the wage data for barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists. It also says that pay for self-employed workers is not included because that compensation is not collected by the Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics survey.

That boundary prevents one of the most damaging staffing mistakes: using a wage median to estimate what an independent professional earns or what a salon owner keeps. Employee wages, chair-rental receipts, commission payouts, and owner income are different accounting measures and need separate local records.

Hair and barber occupations were projected to grow 5% with 84,200 annual openings

BLS projects 5% employment growth from 2024 to 2034 for the combined hair and barber occupation, taking it from 651,200 jobs to 686,600. It projects about 84,200 openings per year on average over the decade.

Those openings are not all new jobs. BLS says many will result from workers transferring to another occupation or leaving the labor force, such as through retirement. A salon that uses 84,200 as a hiring forecast should therefore separate replacement demand from the number of new positions its own growth can support.

Manicurists and pedicurists accounted for 210,100 jobs and 28% self-employed workers

BLS counted 210,100 manicurist and pedicurist jobs in 2024. Self-employed workers represented 28% of the occupation, while personal care services accounted for 71% of the named employer categories. The median hourly wage was $16.66 in May 2024.

The occupation is broader than the Census count of nail salon establishments. Nail professionals may work in nail salons, hair salons, spas, or independently, so a salon deciding whether to hire a nail professional should use both labor-market context and its own service demand rather than treating 210,100 as a pool of conventional payroll employees.

Skincare specialists accounted for 97,400 jobs and 26% self-employed workers

BLS counted 97,400 skincare specialist jobs in 2024. Self-employed workers represented 26% of the occupation, while personal care services accounted for 54%. Offices of physicians accounted for 8%, which shows why the occupation should not be treated as a pure salon staffing count.

The May 2024 median hourly wage was $19.98. Skincare specialists can work in salons, beauty and health spas, medical offices, and independent businesses, so the staffing model and regulatory requirements need to be checked before comparing the occupation with hair or nail professionals.

Nail and skincare occupations were projected to grow 7%

BLS projects 7% employment growth from 2024 to 2034 for both manicurists and pedicurists and skincare specialists. It projects about 24,800 annual openings for manicurists and pedicurists and about 14,500 annual openings for skincare specialists.

The openings include replacement demand as well as expansion. For a salon, the useful question is not simply whether the occupation is growing. It is whether local demand, service duration, professional availability, and the salon's compensation model support an additional role at an acceptable contribution margin.

Census counted 84,176 beauty and 34,417 nail employer establishments

Census County Business Patterns counted 84,176 employer establishments in beauty salons, NAICS 812112, and 34,417 employer establishments in nail salons, NAICS 812113, in 2023. These are location counts for businesses with paid employees, not counts of every professional working in the category.

The companion Census Nonemployer Statistics count was much larger: 838,264 beauty salon nonemployer establishments and 295,977 nail salon nonemployer establishments. A nonemployer establishment has no paid employees in the Census definition, so it may represent a solo operator or independent business that does not appear in an employer payroll count.

Employer beauty salons reported 392,901 AIES employees and $11.9 billion in payroll

The 2023 AIES estimated 392,901 employees and $11.918590 billion in annual payroll for employer firms in NAICS 812112 beauty salons. County Business Patterns reported 391,064 employees and $12.403477 billion in annual payroll for the same NAICS category using its own employer-establishment measure.

The small differences are a reminder to name the dataset next to the number. These are not two contradictory staffing counts. They are measures from different Census programs with different designs, reference concepts, and reporting units. Neither number includes the full nonemployer professional population.

Employer nail salons reported 158,952 AIES employees and $3.8 billion in payroll

The 2023 AIES estimated 158,952 employees and $3.845756 billion in annual payroll for employer firms in NAICS 812113 nail salons. CBP reported 148,059 employees and $3.912509 billion in annual payroll for nail salon employer establishments.

For staffing analysis, the key fact is not which Census program produces the larger employee count. The key fact is that both employer measures describe only paid-employee businesses, while many nail professionals operate in a nonemployer or independent arrangement.

Most employer salon establishments had fewer than five employees

CBP's employment-size distribution shows that 68.7% of beauty salon employer establishments had fewer than five employees in 2023. The share was 65.6% for nail salon establishments and 75.5% for barber shop establishments.

The distribution makes a national wage or staffing average hard to apply to a particular location. A small owner-operated salon, a multi-professional salon, and a chain location may all sit inside the same industry code while having very different payroll obligations, appointment capacity, and management needs.

Zenoti's median staff utilization was 49% for full-service and 47% for specialty salons

Zenoti's 2026 salon benchmark reports median staff utilization of 49% for full-service salons and 47% for specialty salons. Zenoti describes full-service salons as higher-revenue, multi-service operations and specialty salons as more focused concepts such as brow and lash salons, blowout bars, and other focused service businesses.

Zenoti's metric definition gives utilization as (service hours + recovery hours + paid block hours) / scheduled hours. That is not automatically the same as completed service hours divided by available professional hours. A salon should preserve the definition before comparing its staff scheduling data with the benchmark.

Zenoti top-performer utilization was 76% for full-service and 79% for specialty salons

The 90th percentile utilization figures were 76% for full-service salons and 79% for specialty salons. The 75th percentile figures were 63% and 65%. These are platform benchmark percentiles, not a universal staffing target for every salon.

The gap between the median and 90th percentile is useful for diagnosing operations, but it does not reveal whether the difference comes from demand, schedule design, service mix, cancellations, recovery time, or measurement choices. A hiring decision should use local attended utilization and revenue per available professional hour alongside the Zenoti comparison.

Zenoti median revenue per location was $2.1 million for full-service and $596,000 for specialty salons

Zenoti's benchmark reports median revenue per location of $2.1 million for full-service salons and $596,000 for specialty salons. The 90th percentile values were $5.3 million and $1.33 million. The same benchmark reports median average tickets of $114 and $77 respectively.

These values describe benchmarked locations and are not a salary pool or a safe amount to spend on staffing. Revenue per location can include different service mixes, retail, prices, and professional arrangements. Use it as context, then calculate local revenue per attended hour, labor cost per attended hour, and contribution margin.

A staffing decision needs labor cost, capacity, and owner income measured separately

The public sources can tell an owner how large the occupations are, how common self-employment is, what employee wages look like, how many openings are projected, and how salon benchmarks differ by segment. They cannot tell an owner whether one specific professional will be profitable at one specific location.

The local dashboard should keep the following measures separate:

Decision Local measure What it answers
Add an employee Total employee labor cost / completed service hours What did each delivered service hour cost after wages, payroll taxes, benefits, commissions, and paid non-service time?
Add a chair or room Completed service hours / available professional hours How much sellable capacity is actually being delivered?
Keep or change an independent arrangement Salon fees, rent, commission, and service revenue by professional What revenue belongs to the salon, what is paid out, and what obligations sit with the professional?
Expand opening hours Attended utilization and revenue per available hour by daypart Are additional hours likely to create attended, profitable demand?
Estimate owner income Salon revenue minus the costs recorded in the salon's accounting model What remains after labor, products, occupancy, software, marketing, and other operating costs?

The safest conclusion is that staffing statistics are inputs, not answers. BLS wages are not self-employed income, Census employees are not all professionals, Zenoti utilization is not automatically attended utilization, and salon revenue is not owner profit. The next hiring decision should be made from a matched local denominator and a clearly documented compensation model.

Sources

Original source What it contributes
BLS: Barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists Employment, self-employed shares, work schedules, wages, tips, projected growth, annual openings, and the exclusion of self-employed pay from wage data.
BLS: Manicurists and pedicurists Nail occupation employment, self-employed share, wages, projected growth, and openings.
BLS: Skincare specialists Skincare occupation employment, self-employed share, wages, projected growth, openings, and non-salon coverage.
Census County Business Patterns 2023 Employer establishment counts, employees, annual payroll, and employment-size distributions.
Census 2023 Annual Integrated Economic Survey tables Employer-firm employee and payroll estimates for beauty salons and nail salons.
Census 2023 Nonemployer Statistics Nonemployer establishment counts and the definition of businesses with no paid employees.
Census beauty salon profile NAICS 812112 industry definition and employer establishment profile.
Census nail salon profile NAICS 812113 industry definition and employer establishment profile.
Zenoti 2026 Beauty and Wellness Benchmark Report - Salon Edition Full-service and specialty segment definitions, revenue per location, average ticket, and staff utilization benchmarks.
Zenoti Salon Trends 2026 2025 benchmark context for full-service and specialty salons.
Zenoti metric definitions The staff utilization formula and its scheduled-hour denominator.