MelloJam Listen now

15 Salon Membership Statistics Every Owner Should Know Before Calling It Retention

Memberships can make salon revenue more predictable, but a membership sold is not automatically a member retained. A customer may prepay and never use the benefit, use the benefit once and cancel, or renew because of a discount while generating little contribution margin.

We read Zenoti's 2026 salon trends, its benchmark overview, the metric definitions behind the benchmark, and the Professional Beauty Association's current operating update. The clearest public figures show a strong association between membership infrastructure, sales growth, and existing guest visits. They do not publish the active-member count, renewal rate, churn rate, member visit frequency, or package completion needed to claim that a membership program caused retention.

The statistics below keep those measures separate. They show what the sources report, explain what the numbers cannot prove, and finish with a dashboard that can measure whether a salon's own members are actually using and renewing their benefits.

Back to Salon statistics

Membership salons grew revenue 8% versus 2% for non-membership salons

Zenoti's 2026 salon benchmark material reports 8% sales growth for salons with membership programs and 2% for salons without them in 2025. The source presents this as a four-times growth rate, calculated as 8% divided by 2%, not as four times the revenue or four times the number of members.

The report's published table labels the comparison "Membership salons" and "Non-membership salons." The page does not provide a member-enrollment threshold for the salon comparison, so the safest interpretation is a platform segment comparison. It should not be read as evidence that every customer at a membership salon is an active member.

Segment Membership status Revenue growth Existing guest visit growth Membership sales growth Active-member measure Period Source
Salon businesses Membership salons +8% sales growth +12% Not separately reported Not published 2025 Zenoti
Salon businesses Non-membership salons +2% sales growth +3% Not applicable Not published 2025 Zenoti
Full-service salons Status split not reported +2% same-store revenue 0% +36% membership sales growth Not published 2025 Zenoti
Specialty salons Status split not reported +5% same-store revenue +4% +16% membership growth Not published 2025 Zenoti

The table intentionally leaves active-member measures blank. The published comparison tells an owner how the groups performed, but not how many members were active, how often they visited, or how many renewed.

Existing guest visits grew 12% versus 3% in the same comparison

Zenoti reports 12% existing guest visit growth for membership salons and 3% for non-membership salons. That is also a four-times relative growth rate, but it is a visit-growth comparison, not a first-to-second retention rate or a member-usage rate.

This distinction matters because existing guest visits include any visits made by guests who had visited before. The number can rise because long-term regulars visit more often, because returning non-members increase their visits, or because the business has a different mix of guests. Without a member-status cross-tab, the source cannot show what share of the 12% came from members.

The four-times result is a platform association, not a causal membership experiment

The 8% versus 2% sales result and the 12% versus 3% existing-visit result are compelling, but Zenoti does not present a randomized test in the published material. Membership salons may differ from non-membership salons in age, location count, service mix, pricing, technology, brand strength, staffing, and the maturity of their existing client base.

Memberships may therefore be a growth mechanism, a marker of a more established operator, or both. The article should say that membership salons outperformed the comparison group in the platform data. It should not say that adding a membership automatically produces 6 percentage points of revenue growth or 9 percentage points of existing-visit growth.

Full-service membership sales grew 36% in 2025

Zenoti reports 36% membership sales growth for full-service salons in 2025. The source describes this as the highest membership growth of any vertical in its industry dataset, which includes more than salons.

This is a growth rate for membership sales, not a renewal rate. It does not tell us whether the growth came from more members, higher prices, new membership tiers, more locations, upgrades, or a change in the value of each membership. A full-service operator should pair the 36% figure with member count, active use, recognized revenue, and renewal cohorts before calling the program successful.

Specialty salons reported 16% membership growth

Zenoti reports that specialty salons grew memberships 16% in 2025. The source uses the wording "grew memberships" rather than publishing a detailed active-member or renewal table, so this article keeps the figure labeled as membership growth rather than assuming it is a recognized-revenue rate.

Specialty salons include focused businesses such as brow and lash salons, blowout bars, and mid-service salons. Their membership economics may depend on shorter service cycles and narrower menus than full-service salons. Compare the 16% figure with the correct segment and do not apply the full-service 36% number as a universal salon target.

Memberships appeared during a year when new guest visits declined

Zenoti reports that new guest visits fell 5% for full-service salons and 7% for specialty salons in 2025. Existing guest visits were flat for full-service salons and rose 4% for specialty salons, while same-store revenue grew 2% and 5% respectively.

This context helps explain why recurring programs attracted attention. When fewer first-time guests arrive, bringing existing guests back more often can support the schedule. It still does not show that memberships caused the segment-level result. A salon should compare member and non-member behavior inside its own client cohort rather than borrowing the industry pattern as proof.

The public benchmark does not publish active-member counts or renewal rates

The membership comparison does not provide active members at the start or end of the period, members with at least one completed visit, memberships reaching a renewal date, memberships renewed, cancellations, pauses, or expirations. Those missing denominators prevent a true renewal or churn calculation.

An active-member measure should be defined operationally. For example, a salon might count an entitlement as active on the measurement date if it is paid or within its valid service period and not canceled or expired. The rule should also state how paused memberships, failed payments, grace periods, and cross-location use are handled.

Zenoti's existing guest metric is not a member visit metric

Zenoti defines existing guest visits as visits by guests who had a prior visit, calculated as total visits minus new guest visits. The definition does not include membership status. A non-member who has visited before is an existing guest, and an active member with a first-ever visit is a new guest under the visit-history definition.

That means the 12% and 3% figures cannot be cited as member-visit growth. A membership dashboard needs a separate member identifier linked to completed visits, while the benchmark's existing-guest metric can remain as a broader operating context measure.

Membership sales and total sales are separate measures

Zenoti's metric documentation defines total sales as total sales by a center in a month, excluding tax, and membership sales as total membership sales by a center in a month. The two fields answer different questions. Total sales describe the whole sales result; membership sales describe one sales category.

A membership sale can increase the sales line without showing how much service value has been delivered. Track membership sales separately from service sales, product sales, package sales, gift card sales, discounts, refunds, and the revenue recognized under the salon's accounting policy. Do not add the categories together without checking for double counting.

A membership sale is not automatically recognized revenue or completed service use

The public benchmark does not define the accounting treatment for every membership contract, prepayment, included service, discount, or unused benefit. A salon should follow its own accounting policy for when a sale becomes recognized revenue and should show that policy beside its management dashboard.

Operationally, keep at least three events separate: membership sold, membership active, and member service completed. A program can have high sales and low use, or modest sales and strong use. Those are different business conditions and require different decisions about pricing, benefits, capacity, and communication.

Packages are not memberships and need their own completion rate

Zenoti lists package sales as a separate metric from membership sales. A package is usually a defined bundle of services or credits, while a membership usually creates an ongoing entitlement or recurring benefit. A salon can offer both, but the customer obligation and redemption pattern are not the same.

Do not combine package sales with membership sales when calculating retention. Track package completion = packages with all included services redeemed / packages reaching expiration or completion window x 100. Also track partial redemption, unused credits, expiration, refunds, and the time between purchase and redemption.

Member ticket and contribution margin are not published benchmarks

The Zenoti pages reviewed here do not publish a full-service or specialty benchmark for member average ticket, member visit frequency, member retail attachment, member service mix, member contribution margin, or lifetime value. The 8%, 2%, 12%, and 3% results cannot fill those gaps.

Use local measures such as member average ticket = member sales from completed visits / completed member visits and member contribution margin = recognized member revenue and add-on revenue - included service cost - product cost - payment fees - discounts. Keep non-member measures beside them using the same period and denominator.

PBA's May client growth is operating context, not membership evidence

The Professional Beauty Association's June 2026 Pro Beauty Pulse says sentiment was collected in June while professionals assessed May. Its KIM operating data cover more than 10,000 salons and solopreneurs, each with 24 consecutive months on the same software platform.

For May compared with April, PBA reports revenue up 2.41%, services up 1.64%, unique clients up 2.09%, and retail units up 3.74%. It also says 2026 remained below 2025 across most key measures and that year-to-date revenue growth had been driven entirely by pricing. The update does not identify membership use, member renewal, or member visits, so it is demand context rather than membership proof.

The member dashboard should measure use, renewal, churn, and value

A membership dashboard should start with the cohort and define each denominator before reporting a percentage:

Report these by location, membership type, service category, start-month cohort, and member tenure. A monthly renewal rate for members who joined last week is not comparable with a renewal rate for members who have reached a full annual cycle. The cohort window is part of the statistic.

The decisive membership benchmark is completed use, not sales growth alone

Zenoti's platform data give owners a strong reason to investigate membership programs: membership salons grew sales 8% versus 2% for non-membership salons, and existing guest visits grew 12% versus 3%. Full-service membership sales grew 36%, while specialty salon membership growth reached 16%.

Those figures are the beginning of the analysis, not the end. The decisive local evidence is whether members use the benefit, renew at the expected interval, produce acceptable contribution margin, and visit more often than a comparable non-member cohort. Until those measures are connected, call the result membership sales growth or segment association, not retention caused by membership.

Sources