MelloJam Listen now

22 Salon Industry Statistics Every Owner Should Know in 2026

Salon owners need more than a single growth number. Revenue can rise because prices increased, because existing guests returned more often, because memberships created recurring visits, or because a business opened new locations. Those are different operating stories.

We read the 2026 Zenoti salon benchmark and its salon trends analysis, the Professional Beauty Association's June 2026 Pro Beauty Pulse, and current Bureau of Labor Statistics data. The result below separates platform benchmarks, professional sentiment, operating performance, and government workforce data so that the numbers are not presented as if they came from one national salon census.

The Zenoti results compare 2025 performance and are based on anonymized platform data from North America. Zenoti distinguishes full-service salons from specialty salons, which include focused businesses such as brow and lash salons and blowout bars. Every Zenoti result below keeps that segment label visible.

Back to Salon statistics

The 2026 salon benchmark is primarily a 2025 operating dataset

The 2026 Zenoti salon edition is a benchmark report published for the year ahead, but its salon comparisons describe what happened in 2025. The report page says it is powered by anonymized data from across North America and presents year-over-year context for full-service and specialty salons.

That makes it useful for operating comparisons, not a direct estimate of all salons in the United States or North America. Zenoti does not publish one public denominator on the page for every salon, location, guest, or appointment represented. The safest wording is therefore "Zenoti platform data shows" rather than "the salon industry is."

Full-service salons grew 2 percent and specialty salons grew 5 percent on a same-store basis

Zenoti reports same-store revenue growth of 2 percent for full-service salons and 5 percent for specialty salons in 2025. Same-store growth is the more useful comparison when the question is how existing locations performed, because it is less affected by opening new sites.

The gap is meaningful but not self-explanatory. It can reflect pricing, guest frequency, ticket size, service mix, membership sales, utilization, retail, or the mix of operators in each segment. The same-store number should be read alongside guest visits and average tickets rather than used as a complete profitability measure.

Specialty salons grew total revenue 11 percent while location count grew 12 percent

For specialty salons, Zenoti reports 11 percent total revenue growth and 12 percent location-count growth. Full-service salons show a different pattern: 2 percent total revenue growth alongside 8 percent location-count growth. The report also shows 5 percent same-store growth for specialty salons and 2 percent for full-service salons.

This is why total growth and same-store growth should never be blended. Specialty total growth was supported by new locations as well as existing-location performance. Full-service location expansion was much stronger than total revenue growth, so opening more locations did not automatically create a higher category growth rate in this dataset.

New guest visits fell 5 percent for full-service salons and 7 percent for specialty salons

Zenoti reports a 5 percent decline in new guest visits for full-service salons and a 7 percent decline for specialty salons in 2025. Zenoti's salon analysis says the decline in new guest visits occurred across every tracked industry segment, with a weighted industry average decline of 10 percent.

This is a visit-volume result, not a statement that new guests were worth less or that marketing stopped working. A salon could have fewer first-time visits but higher prices, a larger ticket, stronger rebooking, or more membership revenue. Owners should keep new guest count, new guest revenue, acquisition cost, and first-to-second-visit retention as separate measures.

Existing guest visits were flat for full-service salons and rose 4 percent for specialty salons

Existing guest visits were flat for full-service salons and increased 4 percent for specialty salons in the Zenoti comparison. This is the clearest reason the salon story is not simply a customer-acquisition story. Specialty salons grew same-store revenue while existing guests visited more often, even as new guest visits fell.

Full-service salons show why frequency is not the only lever. Existing guest visits were flat, but same-store revenue still grew 2 percent. That pattern points owners toward price, ticket, service mix, membership, and utilization metrics rather than assuming that more visits are the only route to growth.

The median salon ticket was $114 for full-service and $77 for specialty salons

Zenoti reports a median average ticket of $114 for full-service salons and $77 for specialty salons. The segment difference is consistent with the report's description of full-service businesses as higher-revenue, multi-service operations and specialty businesses as more focused formats with moderate price points.

The median is a comparison point, not a recommended price. An owner should compare service mix, duration, provider level, location, discounts, gratuity treatment, and retail attachment before deciding that a ticket is high or low. Average ticket should also be separated from revenue per available hour, because a larger ticket can take much longer to deliver.

The top 10 percent reached $169 in full-service and $142 in specialty average ticket

The 90th-percentile average ticket in Zenoti's salon benchmarks was $169 for full-service salons and $142 for specialty salons. Compared with the median, that is a gap of $55 for full-service and $65 for specialty salons.

Those gaps are not proof that every salon can raise prices by the same amount. They are a prompt to investigate what top-performing locations are doing differently: service mix, add-ons, premium providers, pricing structure, memberships, retail, or client composition. The source does not establish which of those factors caused the percentile difference.

Salons with memberships grew revenue 8 percent versus 2 percent without memberships

Zenoti reports that salons with membership programs grew revenue at 8 percent compared with 2 percent for salons without membership programs. Existing guest visit growth followed a similar pattern: 12 percent for membership salons compared with 3 percent for non-membership salons.

This is an association in platform data, not a randomized test proving that membership programs caused the entire difference. Membership salons may also differ in size, technology, management, service mix, pricing, or customer base. The operating insight is still clear: track member and non-member visit frequency, revenue, churn, redemption, and contribution margin separately rather than reporting only the number of members sold.

Full-service salon membership sales grew 36 percent and specialty membership sales grew 16 percent

Full-service salons posted 36 percent membership sales growth in 2025, according to Zenoti. Specialty salons posted 16 percent membership sales growth. Full-service led every vertical in the broader Zenoti dataset on membership sales growth.

Membership sales growth is not the same as membership profit or retained revenue. A salon should record new memberships, renewals, cancellations, member visits, included services redeemed, upgrades, discounts, and the time cost of delivering the benefits. The headline is most useful as evidence that recurring-revenue products were a major growth theme in this platform dataset.

Seventy-two percent of appointments rebooked once were later cancelled

Zenoti's rebooking table reports a 72 percent cancellation rate for appointments that had been rebooked once. The table says those appointments represented 21 percent of bookings. By comparison, bookings that were not rebooked represented 44 percent of bookings and had an 18 percent cancellation rate.

This is the source of Zenoti's "calendar inflation" warning. A future appointment can make a schedule look secure without creating a completed visit. A salon should therefore report booked hours, confirmed hours, completed hours, and cancelled hours separately. Rebooking rate alone is not a reliable utilization or revenue metric.

Clients who completed a second or later rebooked visit had a 4 percent cancellation rate

The same Zenoti table reports that appointments rebooked twice or more had a 4 percent cancellation rate and represented 35 percent of bookings. The gap between 72 percent for the first rebook and 4 percent for later rebooks is one of the most actionable patterns in the report.

The practical question is not whether to rebook. It is how to help the first rebook become a habit. Confirmation timing, deposits, clear cancellation rules, waitlists, and an easy rescheduling path can all be tested. The Zenoti data does not isolate which intervention produced the lower later cancellation rate, so the local salon still needs to measure each workflow.

Zenoti AI Concierge users grew sales 4 percent versus 1 percent for non-users

Zenoti's salon trends analysis reports 4 percent sales growth for businesses using its AI Concierge, compared with 1 percent for non-users, a 3-percentage-point difference. It also reports that locations with high technology adoption had nearly three times the share of new clients as low-adoption locations: 27 percent versus 10 percent.

These are platform comparisons, not proof that the product alone caused the difference. Operators using AI may have different staffing, marketing, management, booking volume, or digital maturity. The defensible insight is that technology adoption is associated with a measurable performance gap in the Zenoti dataset, especially when new guest acquisition is under pressure.

Median online booking was 28 percent for full-service salons and 26 percent for specialty salons

Zenoti reports median online booking rates of 28 percent for full-service salons and 26 percent for specialty salons. The salon trends article says top-performing salons reached a range of 54 to 61 percent.

This is an appointment-channel benchmark, not a demand or conversion rate. A high online booking share can coexist with low utilization if the schedule is poorly configured, and a lower online share can be normal for a salon whose guests prefer phone or in-person booking. Compare online booking with missed calls, after-hours demand, booking lead time, cancellation, and completed-appointment rate.

Median utilization was 49 percent for full-service and 47 percent for specialty salons

Zenoti reports median utilization of 49 percent for full-service salons and 47 percent for specialty salons. At the 75th percentile, utilization was 63 percent for full-service and 65 percent for specialty. At the 90th percentile, it reached 76 percent and 79 percent respectively.

The distance between the median and the top 10 percent is roughly 27 points for full-service salons and 32 points for specialty salons. Zenoti describes utilization as one of the largest benchmark gaps in the report. Owners should still check the denominator: utilization may be based on booked provider capacity, available chair hours, or another platform definition. Do not compare it with a locally calculated rate until the available hours and exclusions match.

The PBA separates professional sentiment from measured salon performance

The Professional Beauty Association's Pro Beauty Pulse tracks sentiment across W-2 beauty professionals, 1099 or independent professionals, salon owners, and beauty school leaders. In the June 2026 edition, the sentiment questions were collected in June and asked professionals to assess conditions during May.

The same article includes May performance data from The KIM Report. KIM aggregates data from more than 10,000 salons and solopreneurs, each with 24 consecutive months on the same software platform. This is a different source type from Zenoti and should not be merged into one sample. PBA describes its purpose as comparing how industry perceptions line up with real-world results.

May salon revenue rose 2.41 percent month over month, but pricing drove year-to-date growth

The KIM data published by PBA shows May 2026 revenue up 2.41 percent from April. Services rose 1.64 percent, unique clients rose 2.09 percent, and retail units rose 3.74 percent month over month.

The broader year-to-date picture was more cautious. PBA reports service pricing up 3.02 percent year to date while services, unique clients, unique visits, and retail activity remained below 2025 levels. PBA writes that year-to-date revenue growth was entirely driven by pricing offsetting declines in traffic, service volume, and retail activity. That is a professional association summary of the KIM data, not a government estimate of every salon.

BLS counted 651,200 barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists in 2024

The Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook reports about 651,200 jobs in 2024 for the combined occupation of barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists. This is an occupation count, not a count of salon businesses, locations, or appointments. It includes people working in salons, barbershops, personal care services, retail, and other settings.

The BLS category is useful for workforce context because salon operators rely on these occupations, but it should not be substituted for a salon-industry revenue denominator. BLS also notes that schedules commonly include evenings and weekends, which matters when owners compare provider capacity with demand by daypart.

Self-employed workers represented 76 percent of barbers and 48 percent of hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists

The BLS reports that 76 percent of barbers were self-employed in 2024. For hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists, 48 percent were self-employed and 46 percent worked in personal care services. The remainder included retail and other employment settings.

This split changes how an owner should interpret labor data. A salon with employees, booth renters, independent contractors, or a mixed model may have very different payroll, utilization, scheduling, and revenue definitions. A government employment count cannot tell the owner how many providers are available for a specific salon or how much revenue each model produces.

The median BLS wage was $16.95 per hour for hairdressers and $18.73 for barbers

For May 2024, BLS reports a median hourly wage of $16.95 for hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists and $18.73 for barbers. The BLS notes that tips are included in these wage data. The combined occupation quick facts show $17.03 per hour and $35,420 per year.

These are wage statistics, not total compensation or provider revenue. They should not be compared directly with a salon's service price or ticket without accounting for hours worked, commissions, tips, benefits, booth rent, supplies, payroll taxes, and non-service time.

BLS projects 5 percent employment growth and 84,200 annual openings for the combined occupation

BLS projects employment of barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists to grow 5 percent from 2024 to 2034. It projects about 84,200 openings per year on average over the decade. Many openings are expected to result from workers transferring occupations or leaving the labor force, rather than from net industry growth alone.

For a salon owner, the workforce implication is that hiring demand and replacement demand are different. A staffing plan should track provider vacancy, time to fill, retention, schedule capacity, productivity, and self-employed versus employee structure. The national occupation projection cannot predict whether a specific city will have enough colorists, barbers, nail technicians, or specialty providers.

The 2026 salon benchmark is a comparison table, not one universal industry average

The table below keeps the value, segment, period, source type, and limitation visible. The sample or universe column describes what the public source says; "not published" means that a reader should not invent a denominator.

Metric Value Segment Data period Source type Sample or universe Denominator Limitation
Same-store revenue growth 2% full-service; 5% specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Anonymized North American platform data; public count not stated Comparable existing locations Not a government census; platform participation may shape the result
Total revenue growth 2% full-service; 11% specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Locations and performance combined Includes expansion effects
Location-count growth 8% full-service; 12% specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Existing and new locations in the platform dataset Not total North American location growth
New guest visit growth -5% full-service; -7% specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark New guest visits Does not measure acquisition cost or guest value
Existing guest visit growth 0% full-service; +4% specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Existing guest visits Does not by itself show retention or profit
Median average ticket $114 full-service; $77 specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Completed ticket definition from Zenoti Service mix and geography are not fully public
90th-percentile average ticket $169 full-service; $142 specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Completed ticket definition from Zenoti Percentile is not a recommended price
Revenue growth with membership 8% with memberships; 2% without Salons with versus without membership programs 2025 Platform comparison Zenoti businesses grouped by membership status Businesses in each group Observational comparison, not a randomized test
Existing guest visit growth with membership 12% with memberships; 3% without Salons with versus without membership programs 2025 Platform comparison Same membership comparison Existing guest visits Other business differences may contribute
Membership sales growth 36% full-service; 16% specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Membership sales Does not show margin, redemption, or churn
First rebook cancellation 72% for appointments rebooked once Salon bookings in Zenoti table 2025 Platform benchmark 21% of bookings were rebooked once Rebooked-once appointments Booking share and cancellation denominator must remain separate
Later rebook cancellation 4% for appointments rebooked twice or more Salon bookings in Zenoti table 2025 Platform benchmark 35% of bookings were rebooked twice or more Later rebooked appointments Does not identify which workflow caused the improvement
AI Concierge sales growth 4% users; 1% non-users Zenoti salon businesses 2025 Platform comparison Zenoti users and non-users; public count not stated Businesses in each group Association, not causal lift
Median online booking rate 28% full-service; 26% specialty Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Appointments booked online Definition and channel exclusions should be checked locally
Utilization Median 49% full-service; 47% specialty; 90th percentile 76% and 79% Zenoti salon segments 2025 Platform benchmark Same Zenoti benchmark Zenoti utilization definition Do not compare with a different available-hours formula
May revenue month over month +2.41% KIM salons and solopreneurs May 2026 vs April 2026 Professional association report using KIM data More than 10,000 salons and solopreneurs with 24 months on same platform Same-platform reporting entities Not a government universe; May performance only
Combined occupation employment 651,200 jobs Barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists 2024 Government workforce data BLS occupation estimate Jobs, not salon locations Includes self-employed and non-salon settings
Occupation outlook 5% growth; 84,200 openings per year Barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists 2024-2034 projection Government workforce projection BLS projection universe Employment and annual openings National projection, not local hiring supply

The main conclusion is not that one source is right and the others are wrong. They answer different questions. Zenoti shows operating patterns among platform businesses, PBA and KIM show current professional performance and sentiment, and BLS shows the broader occupation and labor pipeline.

The most useful 2026 salon benchmark is the one with its denominator attached

The current evidence points to a specific operating story: same-store growth was stronger for specialty salons, new guest visits declined in both salon segments, existing guest frequency supported growth, memberships separated operators, first rebooks were risky, utilization had a large median-to-top-performer gap, and May improvement did not erase the year-to-date pricing dependence described by PBA.

Owners should use these figures as comparison prompts, not as promises. Track new and existing guests, visit frequency, ticket, membership contribution, rebooking completion, cancellation, utilization, online booking, provider model, and revenue per available hour in one local dashboard. Then label every benchmark as platform, professional association, or government data. That is what makes a salon statistic useful enough to cite.

Sources